International Concert Series 2015: Finland Night


International Concert Series 2015: Finland Night

  • Date:27 - Feb - 2015
  • Time:
  • Location:St John's Smith Square, London SW1P 3HA
  • Venue:International Concert Series 2015: Finland Night
  •  Sold Out

The Collaborative Orchestra, led by Mehrdad Farid, kicks off its International Concert Series 2015 with the music of Finland and featuring its leader, Finnish-born violinist Alina Hiltunen. On the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the birth of Jean Sibelius, one of Finland’s greatest composers, the orchestra will be performing his Karelia Suite and Symphony No. 2. Both pieces are strongly associated with Finland’s nationalistic character. Ms. Hiltunen presents Vaughan-Williams’ “The Lark Ascending” as a counterpoint.

Each concert in the Collaborative Orchestra International Heritage Series explores and highlights the musical traditions of a country and features a soloist from that country.

Sibelius Karelia Suite
Vaughan-Williams Lark Ascending
Sibelius Symphony No.2

TICKET PRICES: £20, £15, £10